Strangers

Standard

“Do not talk to strangers”

That’s the most common phrase you will hear from any parents. It is also one of the life rules bestowed upon you as you embark your journey of life outside the comfort and safety of your family home.

As I grew older, I grew more understanding of the need for that reminder, yet at the same time, quite resentful of the trait developed from that single rule of life.

I understand that people grew more desperate, more greedy, more out of touch with humanity. Crime rates are high and worryingly increasing. People not only are distrustful of their neighbours, but some, their relatives as well.

There are books out there, on the best seller list, telling stories how girls get cheated and trapped in human trafficking by people they trusted. Who has not seen the movie Taken and Taken 2 where Liam Neeson portrayed the character of Bryan Mills, whose daughter was kidnapped while on a trip.

IMG_3551

But I’m tired of it. I’m tired of being paranoid all the time. I’m tired of being so reserved and shy when put in situation where I am in proximity of strangers.

I want to be free of these social constraint. I want to be able to make small talks with the familiar strangers on my daily train route. To just make eye contact and smile at them, wishing them to have a good day, without them thinking the worst of me, that I have hidden malicious agenda. And vice versa.

There are a lot of people who does this: so friendly, so carefree, so… Happy.

Maybe, if we tweaked the rules a bit, to give more leeway for humanity to prove its worthiness, the world may stop being so distrustful. Maybe, instead of preventing children from talking to strangers, we raise them to just be careful and to always inform a responsible adult of their whereabout at all times, they’ll be the change that the world so desperately need.

My question is, does it really matter if we are strangers?

Leave a Reply

